RSS Feed

My Twelve Books of Christmas #6

living.jpg

For the sixth book in this series I swithered about putting in one of our new titles that has had a lot of publicity and then decided against it. Just a few moments ago I decided instead to go with an old favourite.

Effective Christian Living by Jack Selfridge

http://www.christianfocus.com/item/show/219/-/sr_c_1_i

I have a soft spot for this book because I think it is well written, with great teaching – something that has got real meat to its message but is easy to digest. If you get my drift.

And Jack Selfridge was my very first author. As a newbie out of a Vocational Course in Publishing at Napier University, I was allowed to cut my teeth on his biography – Jack of All Trades, Mastered by One. http://www.christianfocus.com/item/show/1755/-/sr_c_1_i

But Effective Christian Living is a book that points us towards the fact that as Christians our lives should bear fruit. There are twenty four short chapters to encourage us towards spiritual growth, with challenging questions at the end of each study.

Looking again at this lovely little title I can’t help but be struck by how ideal it is for the run up to Christmas. We’re into December now – its definitely the advent season. I’ll think I’ll pull down my old copy of this, and read it again. It will be a bit like revisiting an old friend in more ways than one.

About hurrah4books

I'm a writer and children's book editor based in Scotland.

Leave a Reply

