RSS Feed

Quotes for Writers

Posted on

797px-Typewriter_adler3

I love being a writer. What I can’t stand is the paperwork.”
Peter De Vries

“I have always been a huge admirer of my own work. I’m one of the funniest and most entertaining writers I know.”
Mel Brooks (on writing his Memoirs)

“I never know what I think about something until I read what I’ve written on it.”
William Faulkner

“I have made this [letter] longer, because I have not had the time to make it shorter.”
Blaise Pascal

“The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps.”
Robert Benchley

“A good many young writers make the mistake of enclosing a stamped, self-addressed envelope, big enough for the manuscript to come back in. This is too much of a temptation to the editor.”
Ring Lardner

“The only reason for being a professional writer is that you can’t help it.”
Leo Rosten

“The difference between fiction and reality? Fiction has to make sense.”
Tom Clancy

About hurrah4books

I'm a writer and children's book editor based in Scotland.

One response »

  1. Love the Faulkner and Pascal quotes!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

